### **April 2020**

## SMS Connects

April 2020 - Award Celebration Edition

# School of Molecular Sciences 2020 Student Award Celebration

Dear SMS Community,

One of the happiest events in the spring semester for the School of Molecular Sciences is the annual Student Award Ceremony. Here, we celebrate the successes and achievements of our brightest and most deserving undergraduate and graduate students in a gathering with their families, friends and the faculty. Unfortunately, such a get together is not possible this year, and instead we must applaud our students virtually, online. In a way, this is somewhat appropriate since this year we have several students from our rapidly growing online BS biochemistry degree program among the awardees.

There are awardees in three sections, Undergraduate Awards, Graduate Awards and Teaching Awards. For each section, we have a virtual slideshow and a video that introduces each student and their award. You can find the appropriate links below.

I would like to thank our donors who make these awards and scholarships possible and I would like to thank the entire SMS community for their contributions to the SMS Scholarship funds on Sun Devil Giving Day.

Many congratulations to everyone!

Click here to go to the Student Award Celebration website.

Ian Gould Interim Director School of Molecular Sciences

#### **Undergraduate Awards**

George M. Bateman Memorial Scholarship Holly Hemesath	SMS Women in Science Scholarship Madeline Alzamora Elle Streitweiser Madeleine Zheng	ACS Analytical Chemistry Undergraduate Award William Knight
Therald Moeller Scholarship Bryan Ugaz		ACS Inorganic Chemistry Undergraduate Award Matthew Duplissa
Wayne W. Luchsinger Chemistry Scholarship <b>Tia Swenty</b>	SMS First Generation Scholarship Jesus Peralta	ACS Organic Chemistry Undergraduate Award Elle Streitweiser
John Holloway Undergraduate Scholarship Elinor Sauer	SMS Scholarship for Veterans Anthony Pacheco	ACS Physical Chemistry Undergraduate Award Brock Leland
Edward B. Skibo Memorial Scholarship Tal Sneh	Distinguished Biochemistry Merit Award Sabrina Leung Alexis Nichols Paul Turack	Royal Society of Chemistry Certificate of Excellence Holly Hemesath
AZ Society for Coatings Technology Scholarship <b>Brian Clark</b>		Dean's Medal Spring 2020 <b>Madeleine Howell</b>
Theodore M. Brown Memorial Scholarship Sam Bakotich	Distinguished Chemistry Merit Award <b>David Flesher</b>	University Outstanding Undergraduate Student Madeleine Howell
School of Molecular Sciences Scholarship David Reed	SAACS Organic Achievement Award Anne Mcdaniel	Goldwater Scholarship Tal Sneh

Click here to see a slideshow and video of our undergraduate awardees

#### **Graduate Awards**

George U. Yuen Memorial Award

Nghi Nguyen

Jacob Garcia

John Kacoyannakis (Koko) Award

Outstanding Graduate Research Assistant Award

Jacob Garcia

Jesus Aguilar Diaz De Leon

Leroy Eyring Memorial Fellowship

• Yameng Liu

John Vant • Purbasha Nandi

John Holloway Memorial Scholarship

• Daiki Nishiori

Donald Glaser

■ Chloe Truong

Jacob Layton,

SMS Innovation Award
Swarup Dey

Brian Wadsworth

Click here to see a slideshow and video of our graduate awardees

#### **Teaching Awards**

Distinguished Teaching Assistant Award Distinguished Instructor Award Anh T. Le Zina Al-Sahouri Yameng Liu Charlotte Barker Tara MacCulloch Pritha Bisarad Distinction of Merit and Scholastic Occupation Matthew Mena Teaching (DMSO) Award Kanchana Chandrakanthan Jason Miech Ranko Richert Donald Glaser, Rose Snyder

Click here to see a slideshow and video of our teaching awardees

#### We thank our generous donors for their support of our endowed scholarships

Harold H. Bateman
Mrs. Kathryn M. Krause
Mr. Wayne W. Luchsinger
Mrs. LeRoy Eyring
Mr. Randy Hughes
Arizona Society for Coatings Technology
Ms. Helen M. Rosen
Mr. Brian T. Rasley
Bill and Lorna Glaunsinger
Lily Yuen McCormick
Lucy Yuen
Mrs. YuJung K. Skibo

Please feel free to send email to <u>ASUSMS@asu.edu</u> at any time with questions, concerns, or suggestions. You can visit our website at <u>sms.asu.edu</u> or connect with us by liking our <u>Facebook</u> page!









