Women in News

July 15, 2021
School of Molecular Sciences announces Tijana Rajh as new director

Rajh reflects on growing up in Yugoslavia, diversity, and offers vision for future.

June 16, 2021

2 recent promotions in ASU's School of Molecular Sciences poised to have positive impact on growing number of students

Congratulations to Ara Austin and Orenda Griffin on their recent promotions. 

May 17, 2021
American Chemical Society awards bridge program to ASU's School of Molecular Sciences

Arizona State University’s School of Molecular Sciences is one of three institutions nationwide selected this year to join the American Chemical Society’s Bridge Program.

April 30, 2021
Clinical Assistant Professor Ara Austin receives outstanding educator award

Austin’s passion and skill for teaching and her tireless efforts were recognized by The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, awarding her with this year’s Outstanding Lecturer/Clinical Professor Award.

April 12, 2021
Fromme's pioneering efforts in X-ray crystallography honored with prestigious Anfinsen Award

Arizona State University researcher Petra Fromme has received the 2021 Christian B. Anfinsen Award. The honor is bestowed by the Protein Society, the premier international association dedicated to supporting protein research.

December 21, 2020
ASU's natural sciences division welcomes 3 new leaders

Tijana Rajh joins ASU from the Center for Nanoscale Materials at Argonne National Laboratory.

December 7, 2020
New and unexplored dimension in the study of protein-protein interactions

Associate Professor Marcia Levitus from Arizona State University's School of Molecular Sciences and co-workers have now found that these protein doughnuts assemble in previously unknown ways.

October 21, 2020
ASU School of Molecular Sciences professor recognized with midcareer achievement award

Arizona State University's Alexandra Ros has just received the Advancing Electrokinetic Science Electrophoresis Society Mid-Career Achievement Award.

March 10, 2020
ASU professor honored with materials science award
Alexandra Navrotsky to receive the 2020 Jan Czochralski Award from the European Materials Research Society.

February 20, 2020
ASU scientists utilize nonconventional techniques to make new materials

Christina Birkel is working to create new materials that can be used for renewable energy, catalysts and permanent magnets.

January 9, 2020
Breathing with rocks as an energy source

ASU researchers describe key link for using microbial metabolic energy to power electrical applications. Postdoctoral researcher Miyuki Thirumurthy and Professor Anne Jones' work was recently published in the journal Nanotechnology.

October 7, 2019
ASU researcher takes on challenge to build a synthetic cell

The challenge of designing a synthetic artificial cell has been accepted by a team of researchers from institutions across the country, including Giovanna Ghirlanda. Ghirlanda will lead the protein design, engineering and catalysis aspects of the project.