SMS Connects - April 2021



Dear SMS Community,

One of the highlights of the spring semester is the annual SMS Student Award Ceremony, where we celebrate the successes and achievements of our brightest and most deserving undergraduate and graduate students. Normally we do this in a gathering of the students, their families, friends and the faculty. Unfortunately, we must again have only a virtual celebration this year. Nevertheless, we can still highlight each awardee, their accomplishments and show how proud we are of them all.

There are awardees in three sections, Undergraduate Awards, Graduate Awards and Teaching Awards. For each section, we have a video that introduces each student and their award, please use the appropriate links below. I would like to thank our donors who make these awards and scholarships possible and I would like to thank the entire SMS community for their contributions to the SMS Scholarship funds on Sun Devil Giving Day. Many congratulations to everyone!

Thank you!

lan Gould SMS Interim Director



Full 2021 Awards Video | 2021 SMS Awards Website

Undergraduate Awards

George M. Bateman Memorial Scholarship

Rylee James

Therald Moeller Scholarship

Miriam Goras

Wayne W. Luchsinger Chemistry Scholarship

Rvan Korinek

AZ Society for Coatings Technology Scholarship

Ethan Kelly Padilla

John Holloway Undergraduate Scholarship

Gabriella Cerna

Edward B. Skibo Memorial Scholarship

Lauren Harstad

Ted Brown Memorial Scholarship

Hilary Simpson

SMS Scholarship

Chloe Gallello

SMS Women in Science Scholarship

Kristen Krip

SMS First Generation Scholarship

Missy Tran

SMS Veterans Scholarship

Cory Smith

SAACS Organic Achievement Award

Ahlea Reyes

ACS Organic Chemistry Award

Bryan Ugaz

ACS Inorganic Chemistry Award

Madeline Alzamora

RSC Certificate of Excellence

Waris Anderson

Distinguished Chemistry Merit Award

Cole Graham

Distinguished Biochemistry Merit Award

Jack St. Peter

Spring 2021 SMS Dean's Medalist

Ellen Streitwieser

Graduate Awards

John Holloway Memorial Scholarship

Zhaobo Zhang

John Kacoyannakis (Koko) Award

Jorvani Cruz Villarreal

Leroy Eyring Memorial Fellowship

Bethany Kolbaba Kartchner

George U. Yuen Memorial Award

Jan Paul Siebert

SMS Innovation Award

Nghi Nguyen

Outstanding Graduate Research
Assistant Award

- Lillian Hensleigh
- Andrey Kanygin
- Thai Pham
- Eric Wilson
- Xu Zhou



Graduate Awards Video

Teaching Awards

Distinguished Teaching Assistant Award

- Lydia Sakala
- Cindy Reynolds
- Chloe Truong

- Lauren Schutz
- Oluwatosin Babarinde
- Erandi P. Kapuruge

- Blake McCal
- David Ciota

Christopher Gorski

- Nicola Osgood
- Jacob Garcia

Distinguished Instructor Award

Darcy Kimball



Teaching Awards Video

Congratulations class of 2021!



We are very proud to have you as a member of our Spring 2021 graduating class!

The School of Molecular Sciences will celebrate your success in a special graduation webpage and special edition of our newsletter on May 3rd. We would like to create a photo gallery of graduates for the webpage and for the SMS Facebook page. You are also eligible to receive a free "I am a Molecular Scientist" T-shirt. (for SMS graduates only, see the sample on the left).

Please send your graduation themed picture to chemistry@asu.edu before Monday, April 26, and let us know your T-Shirt size (S-XXL). You can pick up your T-shirt in Physical Science Building D104 (the SMS front office), or include your address in your email and we will mail it to you.



Please feel free to send email to <u>ASUSMS@asu.edu</u> at any time with questions, concerns, or suggestions. You can visit our website at <u>sms.asu.edu</u> or connect with us by liking our <u>Facebook</u> page!

Connect with us on social media: SMS Facebook, SMS Instagram(@sms.asu), SMS YouTube











